Smoothie Bowl!

Happy Thanksgiving!

This Thanksgiving weekend, my family celebrated on Friday. This was a work day for me, so other members of the family stepped up and did all the food prep. I didn’t have to do anything except show up! So, I don’t have any Thanksgiving feast recipes to share today. Instead, I thought I would share my discovery of Smoothie Bowls. I’m thankful for Angela Liddon and her new cookbook (see below). I’m thankful for wonder, imagination and creativity.

Check out this new vegan cookbook!

image

I took this book out of the library and have had a wonderful time reading it – yes, cover to cover! – and have earmarked a few recipes to try out. I’ll have to return the book to the library before I can really give it the good attention it warrants, but that’s okay because … I just bought it!

The first recipe I tried was a Smoothie Bowl! What? A Smoothie Bowl? What the heck is that? That’s what went through my mind when I first encountered the smoothie bowl recipes! I’m actually quite an accomplished smoothie maker, if I do say so myself, and I didn’t see the point of a smoothie bowl! But then I looked at the pictures, reread the recipes (there are 3 or so recipes for smoothie bowls as well as several recipes for smoothies) and thought, “Well, I have a smoothie every day for breakfast, maybe I’ll just change it up a bit, put my smoothie in a bowl, add a few toppings, and see what happens.” So I did! I actually made my usual smoothie but decreased the liquid and made sure I added chia seeds to make a thick, spoonable smoothie. And now I’m sold on Smoothie Bowls because this bowl kept me full until lunch time! I used to be hungry and ready for a snack by recess, about 2 1/2 hours into my work day, but when I start my day with a Smoothie Bowl, I’m good for another 2 hours!  Folks in the know tell me the feeling of fullness comes from chewing my food – “oral-sensory stimulation” or tricking the brain into thinking I’m eating.

http://www.prevention.com/weight-loss/weight-loss-tips/how-more-chewing-leads-eating-less

image

Here’s how I did it:

1 banana

1/2 apple or 5 large strawberries or equivalent amount of fruit

1 tbsp chia seeds

1/2 cup almond milk

a chunk of cucumber, diced (about 2 tbsps)

4 cm piece of celery, diced

handful of spinach

2 large lettuce leaves

1 cm piece of ginger, peeled and diced

very thin slice of lemon, peel and flesh, diced

1/8 tsp turmeric

less than 1/8 tsp cayenne

1 tbsp hemp hearts

2 tbsps granola

1-2 tbsps nuts

Put the fruit, chia seeds and milk in a blender (I use an immersion blender in a tall, narrow container). Blend for a few seconds until combined. Add the rest of the ingredients, blending after each addition if necessary. Pour into a bowl and let sit for a bit. (I usually make the smoothie bowl up to this point, go for a walk, then finish making it and eat it when I get back). Sprinkle on the hemp hearts, granola and nuts. Sit down and enjoy eating your smoothie with a spoon!

image

This Smoothie Bowl gets its colour from strawberries.

image

The fruit in this Smoothie Bowl was light coloured so the green colour from the leafy greens really stands out.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Nest and Glow

Healthy natural lifestyle - Plant Based Recipes and more

ice and lettuce

a vegan recipe blog

Oh Hello Vegan

One New Recipe for every month

Carine Young Yoga, Richmond, BC

Move from the cellular level, organs, breath, from within...

Vegan Rescue

Uncover the Vegan within.

Small But Kinda Mighty

From a small seed, a mighty trunk may grow - Aeschylus

A Spoonful of Nature

Lifestyle Blog

Eat2Health Blog

Helping you make healthy & informed choices about your health

Yup, It's Vegan!

Plant-based recipes for everyone

(JUST ABOUT) VEGAN

One hungry girl's guide to an imperfectly delicious plant-based life

Vegan Gourmand

All About Good Food & Great Health

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

blogsomemoore

Teaching and Empowering ALL Students

Coconut and Berries

Healthy, Vegan Recipes by Emma Potts

The Muffin Myth

Know What You're Eating

scarlet rosita

Reclaiming Food With Fun & Yumminess.

The Penny Parsnip

Healthy Food, Heathy Wallet

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

Robin O'Kane

VIDEO - DESIGN - PHOTOGRAPHY

Beard + Bonnet

A Gluten Free blog celebrating food and family!

Feed Life

Nutrition and Lifestyle to Prevent Cancer

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Just Another Vegan Aucklander

A JAVA's journeys, speils and adventures as a vegan/vegetarian

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

FatFree Vegan Kitchen

A fine WordPress.com site

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

