Healing Foods to Start Your Day – Porridge and a Smoothie

I’m just coming out the other end of emergency surgery, a short stay in hospital, and some recovery time at home. Although I still have a few weeks before being able to resume my normal activity level, I’m recovering and healing nicely and look forward to being back at work soon. This experience has left me even more convinced of the importance of food and diet in good health and in the promotion of healing. I mean, look at what I was served in hospital:

image

This is “Tofu Adobo” and “California Vegetables” and white rice with Cranberry Cocktail to wash it all down.

Thank goodness they sent me home shortly after my surgery and thank goodness I had “Tom” around to bring me in some decent food while I was in hospital. I don’t really understand why hospitals cannot do a better job in their food selections and preparations. The two breakfast items I am featuring today would not be difficult to provide in a hospital. Yes, it would be a little more expensive to make, but the benefits to the patients would far outweigh those costs. In fact, spending a bit more thought, time, energy and money on decent food in hospitals would improve patients’ health and so lessen their time in hospital. And that, in turn, would bring down costs.

Anyway, when I got home from hospital, I wasn’t up to much for the first few days, but cooking up a pot of porridge or blending up a smoothie was easy enough. These two meals are so full of healthy goodness I could almost feel the healing happening in my body! Here’s what I  made:

Super Foods Smoothie

image

1 banana, coarsely chopped

1/2 orange, peeled and coarsely chopped

1/2 apple, peeled or not depending on the power of your blender, coarsely chopped

handful of spinach

1 large Romaine (or other) lettuce leaf, torn into pieces

2 or 3 small inside stalks kale, stalks removed, torn into pieces

1 tbsp. chia seeds

1 tbsp. hemp hearts

1/2 tsp chlorella powder

1/2 tsp vegetable based B-Complex powder

1 tbsp. Saskatoon berry syrup (or other kind of sweetener) – I add this to mask the flavour of the chlorella powder

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup or more almond milk

Throw everything into a blender and blend until smooth. Serves one.

Berry Delicious Porridge

image

2/3 cup water

1/3 cup organic large flake rolled oats

5 or 6 strawberries (I use frozen strawberries … organic strawberries that were picked in the summer then frozen)

1/4 cup (maybe a bit less) Saskatoon berries (or blueberries) (again, picked in the summer and then frozen)

1/2 apple, peeled, diced

1 tbsp. chia seeds

1 tbsp. hemp hearts

1 tbsp. maple syrup

a few walnuts, broken into pieces

almond milk

Bring the water to a boil, then add the oats, berries, apple, seeds and syrup. Let simmer gently until thick. Spoon into a bowl, sprinkle on the walnuts and add as much milk as you like. Mmmmmm!

image

image

image

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Healing Foods to Start Your Day – Porridge and a Smoothie

  1. Summer Daisy says:

    Would love to try that tofu adobo ♥

    summerdaisy.net

  2. Sounds like you did ok in the hospital! When I had my appendix out, I remember being served jello for breakfast, which I of course didn’t eat, and instead they gave me apple juice, milk (even after I told them not to), and some vegetable bullion i had to dissolve in hot water myself. For lunch I got upgraded to real food and they served me some dried up buttered pasta with a side of canned green beans. My boyfriend ended up sneaking me a banh mi from up the street. Glad to see you’re home and hope you are on the mend!

    • msokane says:

      That’s sounds like an awful hospital food experience! Again, I don’t understand why it has to be this way. Well, let’s hope that any future hospital experiences involve bringing healthy, tasty food to other patients!

Leave a Reply

Nest and Glow

Healthy natural lifestyle - Plant Based Recipes and more

ice and lettuce

a vegan recipe blog

Oh Hello Vegan

One New Recipe for every month

Carine Young Yoga, Richmond, BC

Move from the cellular level, organs, breath, from within...

Vegan Rescue

Uncover the Vegan within.

Small But Kinda Mighty

From a small seed, a mighty trunk may grow - Aeschylus

A Spoonful of Nature

Lifestyle Blog

Eat2Health Blog

Helping you make healthy & informed choices about your health

Yup, It's Vegan!

Plant-based recipes for everyone

(JUST ABOUT) VEGAN

One hungry girl's guide to an imperfectly delicious plant-based life

Vegan Gourmand

All About Good Food & Great Health

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

blogsomemoore

Teaching and Empowering ALL Students

Coconut and Berries

Healthy, Vegan Recipes by Emma Potts

The Muffin Myth

Know What You're Eating

scarlet rosita

Reclaiming Food With Fun & Yumminess.

The Penny Parsnip

Healthy Food, Heathy Wallet

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

Robin O'Kane

VIDEO - DESIGN - PHOTOGRAPHY

Beard + Bonnet

A Gluten Free blog celebrating food and family!

Feed Life

Nutrition and Lifestyle to Prevent Cancer

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Just Another Vegan Aucklander

A JAVA's journeys, speils and adventures as a vegan/vegetarian

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

FatFree Vegan Kitchen

A fine WordPress.com site

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

