Thai Pumpkin Coconut Soup

The food blogging world has gone crazy for pumpkin! It happens every fall. Recipes for everything from pumpkin lattes to pumpkin falafel and beyond are coming into my in box. I haven’t joined the furor over pumpkin, but I have come across a recipe or two that has peaked my interest. This pumpkin soup for instance. Now, this soup recipe started out as this one from Dishing Up the Dirt. I was intrigued because the recipe called for preparing the pumpkins out of real pumpkins, rather than from a can or from frozen. I’d never actually done this before. So, I picked up a couple of pumpkin pie pumpkins from the market

Sugar Pie Pumpkin

Not my photo! Borrowed from peacefultable.net.

and set about roasting and prepping these pumpkins for some yummy soup. It wasn’t until I got right into the recipe that I realized I didn’t like the spices called for in the original recipe. I know I should have read the recipe over first, but I assumed it was a Thai flavoured recipe. So, I changed spices in mid-recipe and came up with this beauty:

Thai Pumpkin Coconut Soup

IMG_3441

2 pumpkin pie pumpkins (or sugar pie pumpkins)

1 tbsp. coconut oil

1 onion, finely chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp. red curry paste

2 cups vegetable broth

1 can light coconut milk

1 large handful of cilantro, finely chopped

a few sprigs of cilantro, coarsely chopped

pumpkin seeds

Wash the outside of the pumpkins, chop in half, coat the cut sides with a bit of veg oil, place cut side down on a baking sheet and bake at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes. The baking time may take longer or shorter depending on the size or your pumpkins. The pumpkins should be nice and soft when done. Pull them out of the oven and set aside to cool for a bit.

In the meantime, melt the coconut oil in a big pot over medium-high heat. Add in the onion and saute for several minutes until onions become translucent – you  may need to add a bit of water or veg broth to prevent sticking. Add in the garlic and saute for a couple of minutes more. Turn the heat down a bit and add the red curry paste. You will need to stir and mash the paste to incorporate it into the onions/garlic.

Back to the pumpkins … scoop out the now soft and tender flesh and add to the pot, stirring everything together. The pumpkin flesh will puree itself as you stir everything together. Add the vegetable broth and stir well. If you like you soup nicely pureed and smooth, then put an immersion blender in the pot and give it a whirl. I left the soup as is because “Tom” and I like the little bit of pumpkin flesh nibbles in the soup.

Stir in the coconut milk and finely chopped cilantro over low heat, and stir until heated through.

Serve garnished with a bit of cilantro and a few pumpkin seeds on top of each bowl of soup.

IMG_3440

IMG_3445

IMG_3444

 

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “Thai Pumpkin Coconut Soup

  1. Camille says:

    I commented anonymous accidentally. This is just the perfect recipe. How do I know if I’m getting sugar pumpkins?

    A wave and a smile

    Camille

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Anonymous says:

    I need something easy and comforting. This is it!

  3. Delicious! Love it! We just made our own version of this soup last night! 🙂

  4. cookiesnchem says:

    Oh my goodness, all of my favourite ingredients are in here! I’ll order ANYTHING Thai, pumpkin, or coconut. This is like my dream side dish! BTW, I just discovered your blog and absolutely love it. Thank you for sharing such awesome recipes – I can’t wait to try them out!

Leave a Reply

Nest and Glow

Healthy natural lifestyle - Plant Based Recipes and more

ice and lettuce

a vegan recipe blog

Oh Hello Vegan

One New Recipe for every month

Carine Young Richmond, BC

Move from the cellular level, organs, breath, from within...

Vegan Rescue

Uncover the Vegan within.

Small But Kinda Mighty

From a small seed, a mighty trunk may grow - Aeschylus

Eat2Health Blog

Helping you make healthy & informed choices about your health

Yup, It's Vegan!

Plant-based recipes for everyone

(JUST ABOUT) VEGAN

One hungry girl's guide to an imperfectly delicious plant-based life

Vegan Gourmand

All About Good Food & Great Health

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

blogsomemoore

Teaching and Empowering ALL Students

Coconut and Berries

Healthy, Vegan Recipes by Emma Potts

The Muffin Myth

Know What You're Eating

scarlet rosita

Reclaiming Food With Fun & Yumminess.

The Penny Parsnip

Healthy Food, Heathy Wallet

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

Robin O'Kane

VIDEO - DESIGN - PHOTOGRAPHY

Beard + Bonnet

A Gluten Free blog celebrating food and family!

Feed Life

Nutrition and Lifestyle to Prevent Cancer

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Just Another Vegan Aucklander

A JAVA's journeys, speils and adventures as a vegan/vegetarian

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

FatFree Vegan Kitchen

A fine WordPress.com site

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

My Vegan Food Blog

Giving you delicious and easy plant-based recipes

