Smoothies

In a previous post on my original blog, here, I talked a bit about smoothies and how I have consumed a smoothie for my breakfast virtually every morning for ten years. After reading Somer’s blog, Vedged Out, and her post on the Green Smoothie Challenge, I thought I might do another smoothie post. I guess I just take my daily smoothie for granted. I don’t think too deeply about what goes in and how much. I just make sure I’ve got a huge handful of greens and go from there. A recipe for a smoothie seemed silly for me, but I realize, now, that not everyone knows and does smoothies like I do. So, to help you understand my breakfast, and, perhaps, try it out for yourself, here are some ideas.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

– I make my smoothies with an immersion blender – I have a tall, narrow container into which I stuff all my smoothie ingredients (1/2 full for a single serving, full for 2 servings), then I immerse the immersion blender and blend away until smooth.

– Things like oranges don’t blend completely into liquid using this blender, and leave pulp on the blades, but that’s okay. I just rinse off the pulp, strain the smoothie through a potato masher (yes, a potato masher!) and drink.

– Every smoothie I make has 1 tbsp of ground flax seed OR 1 tbsp ground hemp seed OR 1 tbsp chia seeds.

– if I’m using chia seeds, I start the breakfast smoothie process the night before, putting 1 tbsp chia seeds and 1/2 cup of water into the container and letting soak overnight – it’s important for chia seeds to soak before using.

– I often prep most of my smoothie the night before – seeds, water, greens, fruit – and add banana and vegan milk in the morning.

– I don’t like really cold smoothies so if I’m using frozen fruit, I try to start the night before so the fruit can thaw.

– a typical smoothie for me contains:

1 tbsp flax, hemp or chia seeds

a huge handful of greens like baby spinach, baby kale, even leftover green salad

1 banana

1 serving of another kind of fruit like frozen blueberries

1/2 cup water

vegan milk like soy or almond (unsweetened, unflavoured)

Questions?

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Smoothies

  1. You really make it appear so easy together with your presentation however I find this topic to be really one thing that I believe I might never understand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely

  2. I totally agree that a recipe for smoothies or juices even, is a little strange, but sometimes it’s nice! We know what we like, but by following a recipe we are able to try a combination of fruits and veggies we might never have thought of on our own. And since I have everything I need at home to follow this “recipe” I will be making a smoothie when I get off work in a few hours. So excited! Also I wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for a Liebster Award! See my blog posting for the details! http://inthecathouse.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/liebster-award/

    • msokane says:

      Thanks for the comment – hope your smoothie is yummy! Also thank you for the nomination. I don’t really know what a Leibster Award is, but I did check out your blog posting about this award. Am I supposed to answer your questions on your blog or on mine?

      • I made two blueberry smoothies and one strawberry smoothies for me and my girls and it was awesome! Totally keeping this “recipe” as part of my morning ritual! As for the award you should create a post answering my questions and naming your 11 nominates and creating 11 questions for them to answer as well. I hope this makes sense. I too didn’t know what the Liebster Award was…still trying to find out more. It seems to be common when googled though!

      • msokane says:

        Here’s another tip for smoothies: buy lots of fresh, local and, preferably, organic fruit in the spring and summer and freeze it. Then you’ll have high quality, tasty fruit for your smoothies all winter. I live in an area surrounded by farms, especially berry farms, so this is easy for me to do. I hope you can do it too.

Leave a Reply

Nest and Glow

Healthy natural lifestyle - Plant Based Recipes and more

ice and lettuce

a vegan recipe blog

Oh Hello Vegan

One New Recipe for every month

Carine Young Richmond, BC

Move from the cellular level, organs, breath, from within...

Vegan Rescue

Uncover the Vegan within.

Small But Kinda Mighty

From a small seed, a mighty trunk may grow - Aeschylus

Eat2Health Blog

Helping you make healthy & informed choices about your health

Yup, It's Vegan!

Plant-based recipes for everyone

(JUST ABOUT) VEGAN

One hungry girl's guide to an imperfectly delicious plant-based life

Vegan Gourmand

All About Good Food & Great Health

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

blogsomemoore

Teaching and Empowering ALL Students

Coconut and Berries

Healthy, Vegan Recipes by Emma Potts

The Muffin Myth

Know What You're Eating

scarlet rosita

Reclaiming Food With Fun & Yumminess.

The Penny Parsnip

Healthy Food, Heathy Wallet

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

Robin O'Kane

VIDEO - DESIGN - PHOTOGRAPHY

Beard + Bonnet

A Gluten Free blog celebrating food and family!

Feed Life

Nutrition and Lifestyle to Prevent Cancer

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Just Another Vegan Aucklander

A JAVA's journeys, speils and adventures as a vegan/vegetarian

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

FatFree Vegan Kitchen

A fine WordPress.com site

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

My Vegan Food Blog

Giving you delicious and easy plant-based recipes

