Ginger Tea

Is this your daily morning routine?

Coffee making paraphernalia

Coffee making paraphernalia

Why not switch to this:

Ginger Tea Paraphernalia

Ginger Tea Paraphernalia

What is this ginger tea, you’re wondering? Well, fortunately I can enlighten you!

Many years ago, and for many years, I was a Leader with Girl Guides of Canada. I made many lifelong friends through that organization and one of them was B. She introduced me to the healthy, healing, immune boosting, soothing ginger tea. She used to bring some ginger brew to our Girl Guide camps and serve it up hot, sweetened with honey. I clearly remember sitting on a cold beach in February supervising the girls, wanting to head back inside the lodge, but staying out because these city girls were having so much fun exploring the wild beach. Along came B. with a mug of hot ginger tea for me. That drink warmed me inside-out, upside-down, back and forth and all over! When I got home from camp, I cooked up my own ginger brew and drank it every morning for several years. I often drank it in the early evening as well, especially when I had to stand around watching my children play an early evening baseball game in the spring – that stuff kept me warm for most of the game! I swear my regular use of this stuff eased my seasonal allergies, improved my digestive system and regulated my weight. I fell out of drinking ginger tea for a while, but I’m back at it again. Would you like to join me? If so, here is how to make it:

– grate up a big pile of fresh ginger – like 2 or 3 large, hand-sized pieces

– put the grated ginger in a big pot, cover with water and bring to a boil. Turn down the heat and let simmer for an hour, all day, whatever. It makes your whole house smell like ginger, by the way!

– let cool and pour into a jug and store in the fridge

– to make the tea, fill a mug about 2/3 to 3/4 full with hot water. Add 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar and 1 tsp of agave nectar (or honey if you’re into it). Fill the mug up with ginger broth, stir and enjoy.

– you may need to tinker with the amounts of hot water and ginger broth depending on the potency of your ginger brew and on your own personal tastes.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Ginger Tea

  1. Liz says:

    I love ginger tea. I always take some . Thanks for stopping by. Have a great day!

    • msokane says:

      Yay! Another ginger tea lover! It seems that that flavour of ginger is a love-it-or-hate-it one. I like the flavour of ginger and I love the health benefits.

Leave a Reply

Nest and Glow

Healthy natural lifestyle - Plant Based Recipes and more

ice and lettuce

a vegan recipe blog

Oh Hello Vegan

One New Recipe for every month

Carine Young Yoga, Richmond, BC

Move from the cellular level, organs, breath, from within...

Vegan Rescue

Uncover the Vegan within.

Small But Kinda Mighty

From a small seed, a mighty trunk may grow - Aeschylus

A Spoonful of Nature

Just Me Amongst the Chaos

Eat2Health Blog

Helping you make healthy & informed choices about your health

Yup, It's Vegan!

Plant-based recipes for everyone

(JUST ABOUT) VEGAN

One hungry girl's guide to an imperfectly delicious plant-based life

Vegan Gourmand

All About Good Food & Great Health

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

blogsomemoore

Teaching and Empowering ALL Students

Coconut and Berries

Healthy, Vegan Recipes by Emma Potts

The Muffin Myth

Know What You're Eating

scarlet rosita

Reclaiming Food With Fun & Yumminess.

The Penny Parsnip

Healthy Food, Heathy Wallet

Healthy H'ohm'e

Natural health and wellness with a HUGE passion for food

Robin O'Kane

VIDEO - DESIGN - PHOTOGRAPHY

Beard + Bonnet

A Gluten Free blog celebrating food and family!

Feed Life

Nutrition and Lifestyle to Prevent Cancer

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

Just Another Vegan Aucklander

A JAVA's journeys, speils and adventures as a vegan/vegetarian

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

FatFree Vegan Kitchen

A fine WordPress.com site

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

